The Barry Award is a prize for crime fiction that has been awarded since 1997 by the editorial staff of Deadly Pleasures. The award is named for Barry Gardner, a critic who passed away in 1996 while reading in his easy chair in Dallas.

The winners were announced at Bouchercon 2016 in New Orleans on September 15, 2016.

Winners noted by **

Best First Novel

**       The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehanat Khan

°         Ruins of War by John A. Connell

°         Past Crimes by Glen Erik Hamilton

°         Jade Dragon Mountain by Elsa Hart

°         The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

°         Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich

Best Paperback Original

**        The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney

°         Blessed Are Those Who Weep by Kristi Belcamino

°         Quarry’s Choice by Max Allan Collins

°         No Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary

°         Snowblind by Ragnar Jónasson

°         Stone Cold Dead by James W. Ziskin

Best Thriller

**        The Mask by Taylor Stevens

°         Brute Force by Marc Cameron

°         The Killing Kind by Chris Holm

°         Viking Bay by M.A. Lawson

°         Foreign and Domestic by A.J. Tata

°         Hostage Taker by Stephanie Pintoff